Losing Sight of the Shore

“You can never cross the ocean without losing sight of the shore.”  – Christopher Columbus 

I am pulling up anchor and leaving much of the comforts and familiarities I have come to know in Tallahassee and the South. Countless sparks have been ignited in Florida: irreplaceable friends, memories and life lessons. I leave this place with smile, knowing that I would not trade the sparks experienced here for any others. My love for the South runs deep and I will always find comfort in Spanish moss, oak trees, swamp land, and the Gulf. I am turning the chapter and trading the moss for snowflakes, oaks for aspens and mud for mountains.

Spanish Moss

Aspens

I expect the next chapter in Colorado to shape me exponentially. I will meet new people who will become staples in my life like my people in Tallahassee. New memories will be cultivated, creating stories I will tell my grand kids one day. Colorado left me with a powerful spark four years ago after my short stint there in 2008. I look forward to countless more the state and its wonders have to ignite.  I don’t expect this is be all grand excitement. I expect growing pains and probably a few tears. I expect that changing my path from a familiar one to one less traveled will leave me a little dirty and a little beat up…..BUT I will become stronger and the scenery will be beautiful!

Hiking to Chasm Lake – 2010

2 responses

  1. your one of the bravest people that I have the privilege to know. I think your one 0f those people that intuitively know you have all that you need to progress in life is already inside of you. I’ll always be with you where ever you go. Love! Your Mom.

Leave a Reply

